DrugLib.com — Drug Information Portal

Rx drug information, pharmaceutical research, clinical trials, news, and more

Comparison of the effectiveness of 4 anti-inflammatory drops in relieving photophobia after pupil dilation.

Author(s): McDonald MB, Wyse TB, Borodkin MJ, Ocmand A, Shoelson B, Thompson H

Affiliation(s): Refractive Surgery Center of the South, Eye, Ear, Nose, and Throat Hospital, New Orleans, Louisiana 70115, USA.

Publication date & source: 1999-03, J Cataract Refract Surg., 25(3):405-10.

Publication type: Clinical Trial; Randomized Controlled Trial

PURPOSE: To compare the relative effectiveness of diclofenac, flurbiprofen, ketorolac, and prednisolone acetate in relieving photophobia after pupil dilation for fundus examination. SETTING: Eye, Ear, Nose, and Throat Hospital, New Orleans, Louisiana, USA. METHODS: This prospective, blind, placebo-controlled study comprised 105 patients randomly assigned to 1 of 10 treatment groups. Five minutes after instillation of dilating drops, each patient received drops of different test medications in the right and left eyes. Light sensitivity and pupil measurement tests were performed over 2 hours after the pharmacological mydriasis. After photostimulation, patients were asked to rate their photosensitivity on numerical and analog scales and to indicate a filter value required to alleviate right-induced discomfort. Test results were analyzed to detect differences among the pain levels associated with each treatment. RESULTS: There were no significant differences between the placebo and any active treatment drug at any time during the study. CONCLUSION: These findings suggest that mediators other than prostaglandins may have a role in photosensitivity or that increased postmydriatic photosensitivity is a result of higher light levels entering the eye through the dilated pupil.

Page last updated: 2006-01-31

-- advertisement -- The American Red Cross
Home | About Us | Contact Us | Site usage policy | Privacy policy

All Rights reserved - Copyright DrugLib.com, 2006-2017